Early voting underway, runs through Nov. 3

UPDATE. Oct. 19– The contentious presidential election season has either inspired Hardin County voters or discouraged them enough to “get it over with.”
According to Hardin County Administrator of Elections Jeanette Cronise, the polling station in the Hardin County Courthouse saw record-breaking traffic today.
“We were mobbed – today alone we had 410 voters, and to date we have had 530 total votes, counting absentee and nursing home voters,” Cronise said.
At just over 16,000 registered voters in Hardin County, those numbers account for about 2.5 percent of all Hardin County voters casting ballots today alone and about 3.3 percent to date.
Earlier in the day, Cronise said she had heard polling stations in Wayne, Decatur, McNairy and Henderson were also experiencing very heavy turnout.

Oct. 19– Early voting for the Nov. 8 general and cities of Savannah, Crump, Saltillo and Adamsville election opens today.
The early voting site for the election is at the Hardin County Election Commission office in the basement level of the Hardin County Courthouse, and runs through Thursday, Nov. 3.
Polls are open there  on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday from 9 a.m. until 3:30 p.m.,Thursday from 9 a.m. until 5:30 p.m. and Saturday from 9 a.m. until noon.
Candidates on the ballot for Savannah City Commission, with three open seats (vote for three) are: Bob Shutt, Coach Matthew Smith, David Carroll, Stephen Brodie Johnson, and Steven Blake White.
Candidates on the ballot for the city of Crump Board of Mayor and Aldermen, with two seats open (vote for two) are: Vicky Cotner and Mary Warren.
Candidates on the ballot for Mayor of the city of Saltillo are: Larry Darnell Lowery and John Nathan Reeves.
Candidates on the ballot for city of Saltillo Alderman, with five open seats (vote for five) are: Archer L. White, Carolyn Wood, Danny C. Mooney, Rickie L. Withers, Stuart Grooms, and William Lee Robertson.
Candidates on the ballot for Mayor of the city of Adamsville are: William David Leckner and Tommy Morris.
Candidates on the ballot for Adamsville city commission, with two seats open (vote for two) are: Mark Massey, Matt Wood, and Sammie Maness.


Access Premium Content

Some of our online content is only available to subscribers.

To view every single page of each week's Courier exactly as it appears in print or to SUBSCRIBE, click The Courier tab above.

Visitors can view web cams, news and sports and special sections without a subscription.

Public Notices

Search Our Site

Web Analytics