Tribute wall to Vietnam veterans in Savannah Sept. 7-11

SEPT. 7-- The Moving Wall, the nation’s traveling Vietnam Veterans Memorial, is in Savannah this week, from today at noon, until Monday, Sept. 11, at noon. 

The Wall is set up on the Tennessee Street Park grounds in the city’s historic district. The wall’s visit is sponsored by the Colonel Joseph Hardin Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution. 

An opening day ceremony is scheduled for today, Thursday, starting at 4 p.m., at the park. 

Hardin County will honor local Vietnam veterans who gave their lives.  Their families will be recognized for their sacrifices. The program features the Veterans of Foreign Wars Color Guard, Hardin County High School Patriot Pride, and guest speakers, Tennessee state Rep. David Byrd, Hardin County Mayor Kevin Davis, Savannah Mayor Bob Shutt, and retired U.S. Air Force Lt. Gen. Joe Hurd, publisher of The Courier.

The replica wall is half the size of the Washington, D.C., Vietnam Veterans Memorial and measures 253 feet in length.  The replica is constructed of aluminum with 58,272 names of the American dead (including 1,200 MIAs, POWs, and others) in Vietnam silk-screened upon black panels. The replica of the Vietnam Veterans Memorial cost approximately $60,000, and all money to create the memorial was donated. 


Access Premium Content

Some of our online content is only available to subscribers.

To view every single page of each week's Courier exactly as it appears in print or to SUBSCRIBE, click The Courier tab above (or click on the word SUBSCRIBE in red).

Visitors can view web cams, news and sports and special sections without a subscription.

Public Notices

Search Our Site

Web Analytics